Stir Crazy Kettle Corn

Standard

I am a huge fan of popcorn in just about any form. In fact, forget rice; my husband and I ran out of the church on our wedding day with air-popped popcorn flying through the air! Predictably, one of my wedding gifts was a West Bend Stir Crazy popcorn maker, which has served us faithfully with buttery popcorn for movie nights for the last 4 years. Recently, I discovered a way to add the salty, sweet yummy-ness of kettle corn to my late night snacking! If you don’t have a Stir Crazy I totally suggest it! I love mine! You can buy them for about $30 at Younkers (Herbergers, Bon-Ton, etc.)

 

  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 2/3 cup popcorn
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • salt

Put the coconut oil and popcorn in like you would regularly. Put the lid on, and place a funnel over one of the small holes in the top. As soon as you hear the first pop, pour the sugar through the funnel. You may need to help it along with a skewer or cake tester, since the steam will start melting the sugar towards the end. Once the popping slows, unplug and flip the popcorn maker. Add salt to taste (about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp) and shake or transfer to another bowl and stir. If you like it sweeter you can add a little extra sugar in the stirring phase as well. ENJOY!!!

 

2 responses »

  1. We love homemade kettle korn, too, but have found it to be a huge mess to clean up if you don’t do it instantly! I think you can get the Stir-Krazy at Target, too. Our first one had some defect and kept leaking black oil and finally stopped working. The new one we got has served us faithfully without fail these last couple of years! Great recipe!!

Leave a comment